AMFTRB MFT National Exam guideEligibility, registration & costs

How to Register for the MFT National Exam: Approval Code, PTC Application, Fees and Scheduling

Registering for the AMFTRB MFT National Exam takes four steps: an approval code from your state board, an application and fee with PTC, a Scheduling Authorization, then a Prometric appointment. See every fee in the 2026 and 2027 handbooks and the mistakes that forfeit them.

Short answer

First, your state licensing board confirms you're eligible and sends a 13-character approval code. Second, apply online with Professional Testing Corporation (PTC) for a specific testing window by its deadline and pay the exam fee: $370 for 2026 windows, $389 in the 2027 handbook. Third, wait for PTC's Scheduling Authorization email, sent within 11 weeks before your window, with your Candidate ID. Fourth, book your appointment with Prometric right away, since seats are first-come, first-served. Fees aren't refundable unless you're found ineligible.

Step 1: Get an approval code from your state board

You can't register for the MFT National Exam on your own initiative. AMFTRB's roadmap says you must first contact the board of the state or jurisdiction where you intend to be licensed, "even if it differs from the state where they are currently residing or practicing," and receive an approval code showing you meet its requirements.

What to know about the code, from the handbooks and AMFTRB's FAQ:

  • Format. Boards issue 13-character approval codes.
  • One use. A code works for one application, so a retake needs a new code. The handbooks exempt candidates in New York and Texas from getting a new code for each application.
  • Validity. The FAQ's general guideline is that a code is valid up to 1 year from issue or until you take the exam, but boards set their own policy for unused codes.
  • Lost or not working. The handbook says to contact your board if you lose or never receive a code; if a code doesn't work, the FAQ says to contact PTC or your board. AMFTRB doesn't issue or manage codes.

Your board's own application may have separate requirements, deadlines and fees. The 2026 handbook notes these "may be in addition to those of the National MFT Examination."

California candidates: AMFTRB's FAQ says the California board can't issue the approval codes the national exam needs, so a Californian who wants the national exam must be approved by another state's board. California licensure itself still uses California's own exams; the MFT National Exam overview explains California's status.

Step 2: Apply with PTC for a specific window

The 2027 handbook lays out the application:

  1. Go to PTC's Test Hub at apply.ptcny.com and create an account or sign in.
  2. Choose Start a new application, then AMFTRB-MFT EXAMINATION, then the exam and testing window you want.
  3. Enter your name exactly as it appears on your government-issued ID.
  4. Answer all questions and upload the required documents. If you need ADA accommodations or ELL extra time, this is when you request them.
  5. Agree to the testing policies and pay the exam fee.
  6. Keep your login. You'll use the same account to get your score report.

The deadline is the 1st of the month before your window, and an application isn't complete until all information and payment are in. The MFT exam dates guide lists every window and deadline through December 2027.

PTC then emails one of three statuses: Approved (go on to scheduling), Reopened for More Documents (follow the email's instructions), or Rejected (not eligible, with the reason). AMFTRB's roadmap says major credit cards are accepted and asks candidates not to send checks, money orders or cash.

Before you choose a window, it can help to see what full prep at launch includes for each domain, so your study period and your window line up.

Step 3: Wait for the Scheduling Authorization

Approved candidates receive a Scheduling Authorization from notices@ptcny.com within 11 weeks before the window starts. It contains your PTC Candidate ID number and Prometric booking instructions. If you've registered and heard nothing, that email is what you're waiting for. The handbook says to contact PTC if it hasn't arrived 3 weeks before the window opens.

Keep the Candidate ID: the 2027 handbook says you'll need it to request a score transfer, and AMFTRB's roadmap says it opens your score report file.

Step 4: Book with Prometric right away

Follow the Scheduling Authorization to book online at prometric.com/exams/AMFTRB or by phone at (800) 741-0934. Appointments are first-come, first-served, and the handbook is blunt: if you can't schedule an appointment, you forfeit your fees. Prometric then emails a confirmation; check the name, exam, date, time and location, and call Prometric if anything is wrong.

You can test at any Prometric center, not only in the state that approved you. AMFTRB's FAQ says scores still go to the board that issued your code.

MFT National Exam fees in the 2026 and 2027 handbooks

Fee2026 handbook2027 handbook
Exam fee$370$389, including a non-refundable $75 administrative fee
Reschedule in the same window, 29 to 5 days before$50, paid to Prometric$60, paid to Prometric
One-time transfer to a new window$180$199
ELL extra timeAdded to the exam fee (amount not stated)$85 for 1 hour, $135 for 2 hours
Optional AMFTRB practice exam$70$70
Score verification after a fail$35$50
Score transfer to another boardForm and fee (amount not stated)$75, plus fees for expedited service
Duplicate score report$65Form and payment (amount not stated)

The exam fee includes the test center fee, and the 2026 handbook adds that no discounts are available. For a sense of scale: a single 2027 attempt plus AMFTRB's practice exam is $389 + $70 = $459, before any reschedule or retake (Passy's arithmetic). If you're also weighing study costs, you can look at one-time study access planned at launch: $19.99, $34.99 or $49.99 for 30, 90 or 180 days, with checkout not open yet.

Refunds, reschedules, transfers and no-shows

Refunds. The 2027 handbook says fees are refunded only if you're found ineligible, and then minus an administrative fee. There's no refund for choosing the wrong exam or window, for not making an appointment, or for not showing up. AMFTRB also asks you not to pay for more than one application at a time: if you pass, a second application's fee isn't refunded. The 2027 handbook allows one application per calendar quarter.

Rescheduling within your window, with Prometric:

When you askAllowed?Cost
30 or more days before your appointmentYesNone
29 to 5 days beforeYes$50 (2026) or $60 (2027)
Less than 5 days beforeNoNot showing up makes you a no-show and forfeits the fee

Transferring to a new window, with PTC, under the 2027 handbook:

  • It's a one-time option; a second transfer costs the full exam fee.
  • Cancel any existing Prometric appointment first.
  • The new window must fall within 12 months of your original one, and you must ask by the new window's application deadline.
  • Moving your test to a future year means paying the transfer fee posted for that year.
  • A no-show can't transfer.

The 2026 handbook adds that no reason is needed for a transfer: medical excuses aren't required and won't be considered.

Test center closures. If Prometric closes your center for weather or technical problems, the handbook says you're rescheduled if time allows or transferred to a new window at no cost. Contact PTC right away.

Accommodations, ELL extra time and ID

  • ADA test accommodations. Request them with PTC's official form, completed with your healthcare provider and uploaded with your application, at least 8 weeks before the window starts. Don't contact Prometric; it can't approve accommodations. If you need a phone or device for a medical condition, or a breast pump, say so on the form.
  • ELL extra time. Only your state board can grant it, and not all boards do. AMFTRB's ELL page lists 22 states that allow it and 8 that don't, among them New York and Washington; if your state isn't listed, ask your board. The board's approved form goes with your application, at least 8 weeks ahead. Some boards don't accept a score earned with ELL time, so check before you test.
  • ID on test day. Bring a current government-issued photo ID, such as a driver's license, passport, state non-driver ID or US military ID. Expired, temporary, paper or digital IDs aren't accepted, and the first and last name must match your Scheduling Authorization exactly. If you're turned away, you're a no-show.

Before you submit your MFT exam application

  1. Confirm eligibility in writing from the board where you want a license, and get your code.
  2. Check the window and deadline, and the earlier 8-week date if you need accommodations or ELL time.
  3. Match your name to your ID before you submit.
  4. Plan your study weeks to end on your window. The free MFT study planner weights them by the six domains.

Full prep planned for launch offers practice across all six domains, one at a time or mixed, and the 20 free practice questions work now. If you're testing in 2027, read the 2027 changes guide before you pay.

Trust the source

Official sources

Exam policies can change. Use these primary sources for the most current details.