AAPC Certified Professional Coder (CPC) guideStudy & preparation

CPC Radiology Questions: Read the Service Before Choosing a Code

A five-check method for CPC radiology questions: extract the study, contrast status, views, included imaging, and who did what, then confirm the CPT instruction.

Short answer

AAPC assigns six questions to radiology on the 100-question CPC exam. Read the service first: which study, which body area, which contrast status, how many views, and who did what. Then confirm the instruction in your approved CPT book, because Medicare manuals explain useful principles but are neither universal payer rules nor permitted exam references.

What does the CPC outline include under radiology?

AAPC assigns six questions to radiology on the 100-question CPC exam, as checked November 3, 2026. Read the service before you compare codes: which study, which body area, which contrast status, how many views, and who did what. Then confirm the instruction in your approved CPT book.

Six questions is the same weight AAPC gives each surgical series. Its page on the CPC and CPB exams, checked November 6, 2026, puts diagnostic and interventional radiology, ultrasound, mammography, nuclear medicine, and radiation oncology in this section. The CPC section map shows how radiology fits with the rest of the outline.

The weight and topics come from AAPC. The five checks below are Passy's editorial method, built on Medicare policy that shows how one payer handles common decisions. They do not say which rule any real CPC item tests, and they do not give topic-specific rules for ultrasound, nuclear medicine, or radiation oncology; use your CPT book's instructions there.

Your CPT book controls the exam task. AAPC's approved list for the CPC says “AMA Professional edition ONLY” for CPT, checked November 3, 2026. The two CMS manuals cited here are learning material, not approved references. AAPC's compliance topics include NCCI edits, so the principles are worth knowing, but take CPT codes only from your CPT book: several code numbers printed in Chapter IX of the Medicare NCCI Policy Manual were deleted January 1, 2026.

Full CPC prep planned for launch includes Radiology codes among its 18 sections, so this subject has its own place in your review.

Which service details should you extract before a lookup?

Pull five details from the record before you open the book. Write them down while you study; this is not an instruction to bring notes or writing materials into the exam. Section labels refer to Chapter IX of the Medicare NCCI Policy Manual, effective January 1, 2026, checked November 6, 2026.

CheckAsk the recordMedicare principle to confirm
1. Service and body areaWhat study was completed, and on what area?Report the code that “most accurately describes what was performed” (IX-5, C)
2. Contrast statusWas contrast given, by what route, and when?Separate codes cover the combinations of contrast use (C.4)
3. Views and repeatsHow many views, and why was anything repeated?Repeats for quality or added views stay at one unit (C.1)
4. Included imagingWas the imaging part of another service?Integral radiology codes are not reported (H.22)
5. Who did whatWho performed, supervised, and interpreted?Different physicians report the component each performed (D.2)

Check 1 carries a second rule: a code is reported “only if all services described by the code are performed” (IX-3, A). Compare the options with the completed study, not an order or a plan.

Next, find what actually differs between the options, then read the guidelines and notes for that code family in your CPT book. The CPC surgery-question guide uses the same extract-then-verify habit on operative notes.

AAPC says diagnosis content also appears in CPT sections, so keep diagnosis selection as a separate check; the CPC ICD-10-CM guide covers that workflow.

How do contrast, views, and repeat images change the answer?

These details can separate options that describe the same body area. All of these rules are in Chapter IX, printed pages IX-5 to IX-8.

The record showsMedicare NCCI principleYour next step
A study with contrastSeparate codes cover the combinations of contrast use (C.4)Read your CPT book's contrast instructions, then match the option to the documented route and status
Preliminary or delayed radiographs“All radiographs necessary to complete a study are included” (C.4); these are “not separately reportable” (C.6)Do not count an added study
Oral, rectal, or parenteral contrastAdministration is integral; for parenteral contrast, so is vascular access (D.1)Question an option that adds access or injection
More views than a code's stated minimumAdded views are included when no more comprehensive code exists (C.2)Count the views, then look for a more comprehensive code
A repeat for substandard quality or added views“only one unit of service for the appropriate code may be reported” (C.1)Confirm the reason for the repeat
A repeat after “a change in the patient's condition”Separate reporting can be appropriate (C.1)Confirm that the change is documented

The manual illustrates the view rule with a three-view shoulder study reported as one unit under a code with a two-view minimum. For repeats, read why the study was repeated: the last two rows can involve the same number of images and point to different answers.

When is imaging already included in another service?

Imaging can be a service of its own or a step inside another one. Chapter IX says radiology codes integral to another procedure are not reported (H.22), and it adds these rules:

  • Fluoroscopy needed to complete a radiologic procedure is included unless specifically noted (C.5).
  • Localization or guidance is integral “Unless there are CPT instructions directing the physician” to report specific codes (D.3), so check your CPT book.
  • Radiological supervision and interpretation codes “include all radiological services necessary to complete the service” (H.12).
  • Comparative post-procedure imaging: the professional component “is not separately payable,” but the technical component may be reported (C.3). The next section explains both components.
  • Needle-guidance codes listed in Chapter IX: Medicare allows one unit per encounter “regardless of the number of needle placements performed” (G.3). While you study, check a code against the chapter's list before you apply this rule.

The CPC case-study guide shows included imaging inside a full record.

Treat a modifier as a final check, not a repair. A modifier may bypass the edit “if and only if the radiologic procedure is unrelated” (H.22), and Chapter I of the same manual allows an exception under an edit's modifier indicator of 1 “only if the clinical circumstances justify” it, while an indicator of 0 does not allow that exception (printed page I-14). If the record shows no unrelated circumstance, do not accept an option because a modifier makes it look reportable. Some requirements are Medicare rules, not general ones: for same-day screening and diagnostic mammography, Chapter IX requires GG on the diagnostic code and 59 or XU on the screening code (C.16).

For repeated mixed review, full CPC prep planned for launch includes 1,100 questions across its sections. That is the total planned volume, not a count of radiology questions.

Who reports the interpretation and the technical work?

Separate the people from the procedure. When a service has a procedural component and a radiologic supervision and interpretation component, “If a single physician performs both components of the service, the physician may report both codes.” When different physicians perform them, each reports the component performed (D.2).

Then separate the technical work from the interpretation. For Medicare, the Claims Processing Manual, Chapter 13, checked November 6, 2026, treats the technical component as the provider service needed to produce the radiology service (§20.2). The interpretation is different work: “The interpretation of a diagnostic procedure includes a written report” (§20.1), and that report is what the professional-component bill and modifier 26 below depend on. The manual's emergency-room section, §100.1, gives the clearest contrast:

  • A professional-component bill based on a review without a complete written report “does not meet the conditions for separate payment.” A notation such as “fx-tibia” “would not suffice,” and that kind of review is included in the emergency department E/M payment.
  • An interpretation and report “should address the findings, relevant clinical issues, and comparative data (when available).”
  • A second interpretation is paid only in unusual circumstances.
  • A claim line with modifier 26 is described as “indicating an interpretation with written report,” so find that report before you accept the modifier.

These are Medicare payment instructions, checked November 6, 2026. Section 100.1 is written for emergency room patients, so do not apply it to every setting or payer.

How would you work through an original practice example?

This original, abbreviated exercise tests rule selection. It is not an AAPC question or clinical guidance, and it does not contain enough detail for a numeric code answer.

Fictional record: A Medicare patient has an outpatient CT of the abdomen with intravenous contrast. Vascular access is placed and contrast is injected. One series is degraded by patient motion and repeated in the same session. No change in the patient's condition is documented. The radiologist signs a complete written report.

  • Option A: Report two studies, plus vascular access and the contrast injection as separate services.
  • Option B: Report one study of the contrast status performed, and treat the repeat, the access, and the administration as not separately reportable.

Option B follows the Medicare rules above. It is a reasoned answer, not a code list.

  1. Service and body area: One CT of one area was performed, so start from one study.
  2. Contrast status: Intravenous contrast was given, so the choice must match that status (C.4). Access and administration are integral (D.1).
  3. Views and repeats: The repeat was for image quality, with no documented change in condition, so one unit stands (C.1).
  4. Included imaging: The record describes no other procedure for this CT to fall inside, so this check changes nothing here.
  5. Who did what: The signed report supplies the written interpretation (§20.1).

To finish a real item, you would find that study in your approved CPT book and read its instructions.

Now compare a second fictional record. Suppose a fictional emergency physician treating a Medicare patient writes only “x-ray: no fracture” in the chart. Like the manual's “fx-tibia” example, that line is not a complete written report, so under §100.1 it does not support separate payment for an interpretation. A complete written report covering the findings, relevant clinical issues, and available comparison data is different documentation, and it reopens the question.

What should your next radiology practice session repair?

Log each miss with the check you skipped and the rule you needed. Then drill that check, not the whole subject.

Your missNext drill
Check 1: chose from the body area aloneState the completed study before reading the options
Check 2: overlooked a contrast detailFind the contrast line and its route first
Check 3: counted a repeat or added view as a second studyState why the extra image exists
Check 4: added integral imaging, guidance, or accessAsk what the imaging was for, then read the CPT instruction
Check 5: treated a chart note as an interpretationLook for a written report
Added a modifier to make a pair workName the documented, unrelated circumstance

A six-item set mirrors the section's weight. At the 2.4 minutes per question AAPC gives for the exam, that is about 14 minutes, an editorial benchmark rather than a section limit. The CPC practice exams guide helps you choose a source.

Week 9 of the CPC study plan for 2027 pairs radiology with pathology and laboratory. Put the repair drill on your own calendar, and use the free CPC study plan to organize your review. Use the 20 free CPC practice questions to rehearse naming the deciding detail; do not expect them to be a radiology set.

No 2027 version of the NCCI manual had been confirmed at the November 6, 2026 check, so recheck any Medicare rule you rely on. Before final practice, confirm your CPT edition with the CPC code-year and book explanation.

Full CPC prep planned for launch includes a 100-question mock exam, so you can practice at the exam's full question count.

Trust the source

Official sources

Exam policies can change. Use these primary sources for the most current details.