AAPC Certified Professional Coder (CPC) guideStudy & preparation
CPC Practice Exams: AAPC's Official Tests, Free Questions, and What a Score Means
What AAPC's six 50-question CPC practice exams include and leave unstated, how they differ from the 100-question exam, how to order new and repeated sets, and what a practice score can and cannot show.
Short answer
AAPC sells six 50-question CPC practice exams in two bundles of three, each bundle listed at $209.85, or $79.95 for members, as checked November 6, 2026. A search that day found no current free full-length official exam, though one search does not prove none exists. A practice score describes one set under one set of conditions: AAPC's exam requires 70%, AAPC's study tips advise practicing until you reach 80%, and neither figure is a validated prediction of your result. As an editorial rule, your first timed attempt at a new set tells you the most.
What practice exams does AAPC sell for the CPC?
AAPC sells six CPC practice exams, labeled A through F, with 50 questions in each. They come in two bundles of three, A to C and D to F, and each bundle is listed at $209.85, or $79.95 for members, as checked November 6, 2026.
Both bundles together make 300 questions. At those listed prices that comes to $159.90 for a member or $419.70 for a non-member, by our arithmetic; no single-exam price appeared in our check. AAPC lists current membership among its exam registration prerequisites, so if you already plan to register, compare options at the member price. The same product page covers other AAPC credentials, so make sure the bundle you pick says CPC, and confirm the amount at checkout.
The table below gives AAPC's descriptions of its own product. We have not tested them.
| Feature | AAPC's description |
|---|---|
| Platform | The same online platform as the real electronic exam |
| Feedback | Immediate, with rationales displayed for incorrect answers |
| Retakes | Unlimited |
| Readiness gauge | An indication of your readiness for the exam |
| Content | Written by the same experts as the real exam, emulating its content and difficulty |
One number can confuse buyers. AAPC's study guide page says its online practice exams add 150 questions. That figure matches one bundle of three 50-question exams, not all six, so check how many sets you are buying.
What does AAPC's page leave unstated?
Our November 6, 2026 reading of the page did not find these five points. Confirm them with AAPC before you buy:
- Access period: how long the exams stay open after purchase. If you buy now for a spring 2027 test date, your final rehearsal has to fall inside it.
- Time limit: whether the platform sets a clock or you keep your own.
- Cases: whether the real exam's ten-case format appears.
- Code year: which year's codes and guidelines the questions use.
- Readiness benchmark: what score the gauge treats as ready.
Code year matters most if you test in 2027. AAPC's Exam Agreement, checked November 3, 2026, says U.S. exams update each January 1 for that year's codes and guidelines, so under that standing policy a 2027 appointment uses the 2027 code year. A set built on an earlier year can still train your reasoning, but its answers are not the final word. The CPC code-book and code-year guide explains how the exam year and your books fit together.
Is there a free official CPC practice exam?
We did not find one. A November 6, 2026 search of aapc.com returned no current free full-length official CPC practice exam. One search is not proof that none exists, so ask AAPC if the answer changes your budget.
For a no-cost start, try the 20 free CPC practice questions. They are a small sample: use them to find the terms, rules, and lookups that slow you down, not to estimate a result.
Hold any free set you find elsewhere to the same checks as a paid one: who wrote it, which code year it uses, and whether each answer is explained. Skip anything offered as recalled questions from the real exam, because AAPC's Exam Agreement prohibits reproducing exam content.
How does a 50-question practice exam differ from the real exam?
A practice exam has half the questions of the real one. AAPC's CPC exam has 100 multiple-choice questions in one four-hour sitting, an average of 2.4 minutes per question, and it ends with ten cases, each with one question combining CPT, ICD-10-CM, and HCPCS.
| Point | Real CPC exam | AAPC practice exam |
|---|---|---|
| Questions | 100 | 50 |
| Time | Four hours in one sitting | Not stated; 120 minutes at the real exam's average pace |
| Cases | Ten, at the end | Not stated |
| Standard | 70% or higher, which is 70 correct | No benchmark stated |
| Navigation | You can skip, flag, and return while the exam is in progress | Not confirmed here; try it on your first set |
The 120 minutes is our calculation, 50 questions at 2.4 minutes. It is an editorial benchmark, not an AAPC limit.
As editorial reasoning, a 120-minute set cannot show whether your accuracy and lookup speed hold through the second half of a four-hour sitting. Two new sets worked back to back on a 240-minute clock come closer to the real length. Use the CPC time-management guide for pacing checkpoints. If your sets turn out to have no cases, practice that final reading load separately with the CPC case-study guide.
For one sitting at the real question count, full CPC prep planned for launch includes a 100-question mock. Whichever set you use, record the conditions next to the score.
How should you order new, repeated, and timed sets?
Count your first attempt at a set, and treat later attempts as repair. That rule is editorial, not AAPC's. Unlimited retakes let you reuse a set, but once you have read its rationales, a higher score may only show that you remember the items. Both bundles give you six first attempts, so spend them deliberately.
Two labels keep scores comparable. Timed means working against the clock with only your intended references. Assisted means using explanations, notes, or other help as you go.
| Set | Timed | Assisted |
|---|---|---|
| New | Your clearest signal; count the score | Useful learning; do not count the score |
| Repeated | Pacing and lookup drill; do not count the score | Rule repair; do not count the score |
A workable order, as an editorial suggestion:
- Early in your review: work a small sample, such as the free questions, to find gaps.
- Once you have covered most sections: take one new set timed, with the books you plan to use on exam day.
- After each new set: review every miss, guess, and slow answer, and repair the rule behind it.
- Between new sets: retest only to confirm a repair.
- In the final weeks: keep two new sets for a back-to-back rehearsal. With a single bundle, that leaves one new set for step 2.
AAPC's study tips advise treating practice exams like real tests, reviewing missed questions, and retesting. That fits this order, as long as you do not read the retest as a fresh measure.
When you need more unseen items than your sets provide, full CPC prep planned for launch includes 1,100 questions across 18 sections. Keep every session in the log from the CPC study plan for 2027, which shows when a result should change your schedule.
What does a practice score tell you?
A practice score tells you how you did on one set under one set of conditions. It does not give you a chance of passing. AAPC's exam standard is 70% or higher, and AAPC's study tips separately advise practicing until you score at least 80%. The 80% figure is AAPC's own tip: nothing in the AAPC pages we checked shows that it predicts an exam result, and the practice-exam page gives no benchmark for the readiness gauge. The CPC passing score guide explains the 70% standard and how it differs from a pass rate.
Set size limits what a score can show. On a 50-question set, 70% is 35 correct and 80% is 40 correct, so each question moves the score by 2 percentage points. On 20 free questions, each one moves it by 5. Look for the same miss across sets, not a small change between two scores.
The table below is editorial. It helps you pick a next step and does not predict an outcome.
| What you see | What it can mean | Next step |
|---|---|---|
| New timed set, under 70% | Below the exam's percentage on this set | Sort misses by cause and repair them before using another new set |
| New timed set, 70% to 79% | At the exam's percentage on this set, under AAPC's tip | Find which sections lost points, repair them, then try a new set |
| New timed set, 80% or higher | AAPC's tip met on this set | Check that it holds on another new set, preferably at full length |
| Higher score on a repeated set | Possibly memory | Do not count it; apply the rule to items you have not seen |
| Sound answers, but over 120 minutes | A pacing or lookup problem | Rehearse lookups before adding more content |
Sort misses by section before you act. AAPC assigns 36 of its 100 questions to the six surgical series and three each to compliance and HCPCS Level II, so check the CPC section breakdown before deciding how much time a weak area deserves. If you have already failed the exam, start from the areas AAPC reported at or below 65% rather than from a practice score; the CPC retake guide turns those areas into a plan.
When unfamiliar terms cause your misses, 540 flashcards are planned for launch in full CPC prep. Keep book lookups in the same study block.
Which practice source fits your next step?
Choose by the job you need done, not by question count alone. The study guide price was checked November 6, 2026, so confirm it before paying.
| Source | What you get | Best use | Limit |
|---|---|---|---|
| AAPC practice exams | Six 50-question exams in two bundles of three | New timed sets | One set cannot show a four-hour sitting; case coverage is unconfirmed |
| AAPC study guide | 200+ review questions with answers and rationales across twenty chapters, $99.95 member or $149.95 non-member | Checking a topic as you review it | Does not show mixed work against the clock |
| AAPC course tests | Three 50-question practice tests inside AAPC's paid CPC preparation course | Practice you already have if you enrolled | Overlap with the A to F exams is unconfirmed; ask before buying both |
| Passy free questions | 20 free CPC practice questions | A first look at what slows you down | Does not show performance across a full exam |
| Full CPC prep | 1,100 questions and a 100-question mock planned for launch in full CPC prep | A larger pool and a sitting at the real question count | Not available yet; like any practice score, its result would not be a prediction |
AAPC describes its study guide as a review rather than an introduction to coding. The CPC study guide overview covers who needs it.
Keep practice content out of your exam books. AAPC allows highlighting, underlining, tabs for navigation, and brief notes about everyday coding work, but it prohibits copied exam or practice questions and supplemental pages, and the proctor checks materials. Put what you learn from a set in your own words, in a separate log.
Your next step is to work the free questions, note what slows you down, and confirm the five unstated points before you buy a bundle. Then use the free CPC study plan to organize your review, and space your new timed sets across it yourself.
Trust the source
Official sources
Exam policies can change. Use these primary sources for the most current details.
- Online Practice Exam: CPC, CPB, COC, CIC, CRC, CPMA, CPCOAAPC↗
- Certified Professional Coder (CPC) Medical Coding Study GuideAAPC↗
- How to study for the CPC exam (Tips to Pass the CPC Exam)AAPC↗
- CPC Preparation CourseAAPC↗
- Taking the CPC examAAPC↗
- Exam AgreementAAPC↗
- In-Person and Online CPC Exam FAQsAAPC↗
- What are the exam registration prerequisites?AAPC↗